Tags

, ,


While singing the first hymn and listening to the first reading today, I am thinking about clay and potters.  It occurs to me that it would be nice to make an advent wreath (which I have not yet organised, again) out of salt dough.  I have never made salt dough before, but it seems straightforward.  It turns out that even my idea of a salt dough advent wreath is not original:

http://aliceayel.posterous.com/homemade-advent-wreath

(if you’re wondering about the very nice sideboard in alice’s blog, it’s an Ikea sideboard: http://www.ikea.com/gb/en/catalog/products/40033862/. But I digress).

We decide to make ours slightly differently, without the core of tin-foil or the big candle holders.  After making salt dough (two cups flour, one cup salt, between half and a whole cup warm water, lots of kneading, rest for half an hour, more kneading), I make a long fat sausage and join it to make a ring and show the children how to push the candles in, so that they will go in when it is finished, and the children cut out leaves, berries and decorations and decorate it.  Then it goes in the oven (160 degrees Celsius for 2 hours) and when it is cooled the children paint it.

I’m very pleased with this, and wonder why I never tried salt dough before, or a clay-type advent wreath.

