When I was at school, I learnt many things that I have since forgotten. At Mass one Sunday, the priest said that the Pope had asked some bishops if they could name the works of mercy; I couldn’t remember them either. So I figured I’d make a note of them here.

The catholic church lists seven corporal works of mercy and seven spiritual works of mercy. Why seven? Probably because they like the number seven. Anyway, they are:

  1. Feed the hungry.
  2. Give drink to the thirsty.
  3. Clothe the naked.
  4. Shelter the homeless.
  5. Visit the sick.
  6. Visit the imprisoned (or ransom the captive).
  7. Bury the dead.
  8. Counsel the doubtful.
  9. Instruct the ignorant.
  10. Admonish sinners.
  11. Comfort the afflicted.
  12. Forgive offences.
  13. Bear wrongs patiently.
  14. Pray for the living and the dead.

It was also suggested that the Pope thought everybody could do at least one work of mercy in this Holy Year of Mercy. I think we should be able to do one a day, even if it’s ‘only’ number 14.